Blaugust Day 27: Brawlin’

Posted: August 27, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Finally got done with a successful session of D&D, and got back home at about 4 in the morning. Sure, my alarms are gonna go off for work in about 5 hours. Yeah, I’m gonna be clocked in within 8 hours. Oh wells, what a shame. I’m not the least bit tired (okay, maybe a liiittle tired)… so how else to pass the time than to get some decent blog action in while knocking out some dailies via the tavern brawl?

As I mentioned in the last post, the current brawl is the Encounter at the Crossroads, where each deck is made with 15 class cards and 15 neutral ones. It’s… okay, as far as the brawls go. It’s just about as RNG as you can make any of the brawls. Every deck, every time, is completely different, so good luck trying to mulligan or fish for something decent. Or complete any spell-related quests, since the majority of the deck is gonna be class creatures and neutral ones.

It makes for some interesting scenarios, however. Think you’ve got a pretty set board? Well, they might be chock full of stalls then a board wipe. Or you might just be able to keep swapping until top-decking something completely absurd. Or, in my case… every single thing you draw is immediately answered by them and then some, the next turn. Every match is completely different, and the odds can go either way.

All in all, I pretty much can’t stand this one. I prefer the boss vs boss ones, or the weird constructed rules where you spit out minions with spells or deathrattle into random other ones. Too much RNG, however equalizing it might be, tends to just rub me the wrong way.

Here’s hoping the next one is something more my speed.

-Bane Falcon

Never answer a question when you’re dreaming.” (implying superstitious fear of witchcraft)

http://aggronaut.com/2015/07/21/the-revenge-of-blaugust/

Comments
  1. Particlebit says:

    I also don’t think there are any spells in the new brawl decks. And you can have multiple legendaries (as evidenced when I drew two Tirions…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • banefalcon says:

      There was an issue with not having spells in the deck, but they hotfixed it sometime today. I know I had Cone of Cold and the mage 7-drop board wipe (can’t recall the name) when I played waaay early this morning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

