Blaugust Day 16: Crossover

Posted: August 16, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Although I shouldn’t be surprised, one of the things I love the most about fellow Blizzard fans is how many other shared interests we can have. When you get people from all walks of life, it’s fairly easy for each of them to have different interests or hobbies outside of just that one video game. Sure, some people also play Borderlands, or Mass Effect, or League of Legends or some other stuff, but that isn’t the part that makes me chuckle to myself.

I’m meaning the Whovian sub-threads in different Blizzard groups, or the fantasy football teams (D&D for Jocks, as I like to put it), or those who have read the Dresden Files or The Name of the Wind. Those slightly more eclectic varieties of nerd-dom, showing up and connecting people who were already getting together. Hells, that’s not even including having a friendly argument jump from Dwarves versus Elves, to Marvel versus DC.

I don’t know why I find it so amusing, considering that there have been millions and millions of WoW players alone, and not including the rest of the company, but it makes me smile. That’s one of the reasons why I love BlizzCon so much. It’s barely about the convention itself, and more an excuse to get us all together to hang out and have a blast. Everyone does the convention their own way, but if I get out of there having only sat through 3-4 panels, but spending the rest of the time nerding out on random crap? Yeah, I consider that a success.

-Bane Falcon
“Keep to the new road and an old friend.”

http://aggronaut.com/2015/07/21/the-revenge-of-blaugust/

Leave a Reply

